AMVCA8: Amina, Rattlesnake: Ahanna Story win big

Spread the love

…as Stan Nze, Osas Ighodaro emerge Best Actor/Actress
… Ramsey Nouah carts home Best Director

-Pam Jenny/

Blockbuster movies Amina and Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story were among the biggest winners at the 8th Edition of the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award which held at the Convention Centre of the Eko Hotel snd Suites.
Hosted by the duo of Nigeria’s IK Osakioduwa and South Africa’s Bonang Matheba, the ceremony kept guests at the edge of their seats from start to finish. Musician Yemi Alade delivered an amazing opening performance, singing a medley of her hits.
Speaking at the event, CEO Mutltichoice, John Ukpe said: -“From the maiden edition of the AMVCA in 2014, it has grown bigger. This year’s event spread across eight days with a line up of events. A big thank you to all our sponsors and each and everyone of you too”
Some of the other winners of the night include Stan Nze and Osas Ighodaro who won Best Actor/Best Actress for Rattlesnake, Funke Akindele-Bello won Best Actress in a comedy. Veteran Actor, Ramsey Nuoah won the Best Director while industry heavyweight, Taiwo Ajai-Lycett got the Industry Merit Award among others.
The Best Dressed Male and Female went to Denola Grey and Osas Ighodaro. It was indeed an amazing night for all in attendance.

Here are the winners at a glance :

Best Sound Editor Movie/TV Series- Jim Lively/James Nelson for Amina

Best Picture Editor- Tunde Apalowo “For Maria Ebun Pataki

Best Lightning Designer Movie/TV Series- Matthew Yusuf(Nneka the Pretty Serpent

Best Art Director Movie/TV Series- Tunji Afolayan(Amina)

Best Writer Movie/TV Series- Introducing the Kujus

Best Cinematographer- Muhammad Attah(Rattlesnake:The Ahanna Story)

Best Makeup- Balogun Abiodun(Omoghetto the Saga)

Best Costume Design- Mlicent T. Jack(Amina)

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Swahili) – Freddy Feruzi

Best Indigenous Language Movie(Hausa) – Rogers Ofime(Voiceless)

Best Indigenous Language Movie(Yoruba) – David Akande, Demola Yusuf and Edgar Roy(Alaise)

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Igbo) – Uche Nnanna-Maduka

Best Television series Drama or Comedy – Rogers Ofime(Mystic River)

Best Documentary – If Objects Could Speak

Best Short Film/Online Video- Taiwo Ogunimo(I’m the Prostitute Mama Described)

Best Online Social Content Creator- Sabinus(Something Huge)

Best Southern Africa Drama/Comedy – Dantagos Jimmy-Melani

Best Eastern Africa Drama/Comedy- Morroco Omari

Best Movie West Africa- Bolanle Austen – Peters, Janez Amuta and Joseph Umoibom(Collision Course)

Best Soundtrack Movie or TV Series- Pascal Aka and Raquel (Goldcoast Lounge)

Best Supporting Actress Movie/TV Series- Omowunmi Dada(Country Hard)

Best Supporting Actor Movie/TV Series- Odunlade Adekola(Jankariwo)

Best Africa Magic Original Comedy Series- Rogers Ofime(The Johnsons)

Best Africa Magic Original Drama Series- The Rishantes

Best Actress in a Comedy- Funke Akindele-Bello

Best Actor in a Drama- Stan Nze (Rattlesnake)

Best Actress in a Drama- Osas Ighodaro(Rattlesnake)

Best Director- Ramsey Nuoah (Rattlesnake)

Industry Merit Award- Taiwo Ajai-Lycett.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker